The Connecticut General Assembly

REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

SENATE

Senate Minority Leader Kevin Kelly Senate President Pro Tempore Martin Looney Senate Majority Leader Bob Duff Senator Paul Formica

Jim Tamburro, Project Coordinator

www.cga.ct.gov/red



HOUSE

Speaker of the House Matt Ritter House Minority Leader Vincent Candelora House Majority Leader Jason Rojas Representative Jason Perillo

reapportionment@cga.ct.gov

MINUTES Tuesday, November 16, 2021 2:30 PM on Zoom and YouTube Live

I. CONVENE MEETING:

The meeting was called to order at 2:30 PM by Speaker Matt Ritter.

The following commission members were present: Senator Kevin Kelly, Senator Martin Looney, Senator Bob Duff, Representative Matt Ritter, Representative Vincent Candelora, Representative Jason Rojas, Representative Jason Perillo

Absent were: Senator Paul Formica

II. OPENING REMARKS:

Speaker Ritter welcomed everyone.

III. ANNOUNCEMENT OF RESIGNATION OF 9th MEMBER:

Speaker Ritter asked if there was any discussion regarding the resignation of the Commission's 9th member. Senator Looney moved to accept the resignation of 9th member, Kevin Johnston, with regret. The motion was seconded by Senator Kelly. Speaker Ritter voiced his appreciation for Mr. Johnston and asked if there were further remarks regarding the resignation. Hearing none, the motion passed by voice vote. Speaker Ritter then turned the meeting over to Senator Kelly for the next agenda item.

IV. APPOINTMENT OF 9TH MEMBER:

Senator Kelly nominated former Senator John McKinney to be the 9th Commission member. He remarked that the former Senator served with dignity in both the Republican Caucus as well as the Senate. Speaker Ritter commented on the audio cutting out a bit and reiterated that the nomination was for John McKinney. Senator Looney seconded the nomination and commented that he has known and served with former Senator McKinney for a long time and feels confident he will provide good counsel to the process. Speaker Ritter asked if there were any additional comments. Senator Duff commented in support of the nomination. Speaker Ritter said that he

sees no additional comments but wanted to state his own support for the nomination. He believes that Mr. McKinney understands the bipartisan goal for completing all three maps. The motion passed on a roll call vote with 7 voting Yea, 0 voting Nay, 0 abstaining, and 1 Absent and Not Voting.

V. ADJOURNMENT:

Speaker Ritter then suggested adjournment. Senator Kelly made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Speaker Ritter and was approved unanimously by voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 2:38 PM.

Beth Waters Administrator